775-465-2045 social linkedin box white icon

The Hatfield Award is presented to operators of wastewater treatment plants for outstanding performance and professionalism. The award was established in honor of Dr. William D. Hatfield, Superintendent of the Decatur, Illinois Sanitary District, who was President of the Central States Sewage Works Association in 1944-45 and served as President of the Federation in 1958-59.

The award consists of a plaque suitably inscribed with the recipient's name and is presented by a Federation representative at the Member Association annual meeting.


WEF Member Associations select their recipient for the Hatfield Award following the WEF general criteria indicated below:

  1. Member of the Water Environment Federation.
  2. Documentation of a successful system of reports from the operator to his or her superiors that fulfill the information requirements and provide the operator with a forum for suggestions for improvements.
  3. Use of a good public relations program.
  4. The nominee should have contributed to the dissemination of information concerning advancements in the field.


Hatfield Nomination Form

Nominations Accepted From:

WEF Membership Association

Nominations Deadline:

Eight weeks prior to WEF MA Annual Meeting

Hatfield Award Recipients:

  • Joe Carter 2020
  • Mark Dunbar 2019
  • Dave Commons 2013
  • Leanna Risso 2012
  • Harvey Johnson 2011
  • Adrian Edwards 2010
  • Gary Hutchison 2008
  • Kirk Peterson 2006
  • Steve Long 2005
  • Bill Shepherd 2004
  • Kelvin Ikehara 2002
  • Starlin Jones 2001
  • Timothy Smith 1999
  • Walter S. Johnson 1998
  • David L. Mendenhall 1996
  • Mike Yonke 1995
  • Terry L. Hughes 1992
  • Duane Baker 1986
  • Lewis Nagy 1978
  • Francis J. Mike Coache 1977
  • Clifford Girvan, Jr. 1974
  • Louis A. Anton 1971
  • William J. Dunn 1968
  • Julio Alves 1965

Subscribe for updates, news and more

CONTACT US   linkedin